Breaking the Dark Humor barrier

suicide-thoughts-cyanide-happiness-comics-3354887

Today, my therapist suggested that, in my state, seeing a psychiatrist might be a great help. During the intake, I was asked the usual questions about my mental state and behaviors. The question on suicidal thoughts came up. He asked me, “Do you have suicidal thoughts?” We discussed the suicidal ideation I have struggled with for as long as I can recall being me. He then asked the obvious follow up question:

“Do you have a plan to commit suicide, like a time, a place, a way you would do it?”

I replied: “I don’t have a plan, but dude, trust me, I’m like WAY super organized, so I would have one.”

The intake doctor chuckled. “Well, yeah, never heard that reply before.”

I feel I have achieved some kind of greatness in the dark humor world, as I am in a psychiatrist office being asked about suicidal thoughts, and I managed to cause laughter.

I left the psychiatrist’s office and my check engine light came on in my truck.

Now I truly want to die.

Leave a comment